Review: Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann

indelible

INDELIBLE
Kristen Heitzmann
Waterbrook Press
May 3, 2011
ISBN: 978-1400073108
Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Trade Paperback

Rating: 4 STARS

When Trevor McDaniel rescues Natalie Reeve’s nephew from the jaws of a mountain lion, their lives become inexplicably entwined, attracting a mysterious admirer. Now the peaceful mountain community of Redford is threatened by a strange soul who views Trevor as both an archangel and an adversary. This menacing foe will go to great lengths to capture Trevor’s attention—even if it means targeting the most helpless and innocent victims.

I’ve always really enjoyed Kristen Heitzmann’s books in the past, especially the ones that include a dash of romantic suspense, so INDELIBLE immediately caught my eye. Ms. Heitzmann is known for bringing great characters to life, and this book is no exception.

Natalie is a sculptor with a special ability to remember even the smallest details she sees, a talent that also allows her to see into a person’s soul. The only way for her to purge these emotional visions is by putting her hands to clay. I really loved the way Heitzmann portrays Natalie throughout the book. She brings Natalie’s struggles and emotions to life in a way that gripped me from page one.

Trevor is also a bit of a tortured soul, and by pairing him up with Natalie, we get a solid couple that both have to overcome some difficult conflict as the book progresses. The interactions between Trevor and Natalie are definitely my favorite part of the book, and even though I would have liked to see a little more glimpse of the romance, I felt Heitzmann did a wonderful job showing these two emotionally battered characters becoming whole again.

However, I had an extremely hard time with the villain passages in the book. I appreciate Heitzmann’s attempt to parallel the villain with Milton’s Paradise Lost, but these scenes became an exercise in frustration and confusion for me, and I found myself skipping over them more often than not. I also had some difficulty with the fact that this book is not as stand-alone as it could be. Having not read INDIVISIBLE, there were times (especially revolving around Jonah Westfall) when I felt like I was missing something important, and I never felt fully grounded in the story.

All in all, Heitzmann still manages to pull off an intriguing story with likeable characters. I look forward to seeing her next book.

Leave a Reply

